## Coastal and Marine Geography Specialty Group Business Meeting Minutes AAG 2019 Annual Meeting, April 4, 2019 Washington DC

Minutes recorded by Diane Horn, Secretary/Treasurer

The first item of business, following the welcome by COMA Chair Heidi Lannon, was the approval of the 2018 Business Meeting minutes. After a brief discussion, a vote was taken and passed to approve the 2018 minutes.

The Chair gave her report on COMA's status and accomplishments during the past year. There were 23 COMA-sponsored sessions and some very interesting co-sponsored sessions. There were 9 presentations in the Norbert P. Psuty Award sessions and 3 posters in the H. Jesse Walker Guided Poster Merit Award session. However, she noted that there were no nominations for the R.J. Russell Award or the M.F. Maury Paper of the Year Award, and encouraged COMA members to submit nominations in future. This led to a discussion of when nominations should be submitted, and the chair noted that the bylaws require the committee to vote on the Maury Award during the first week in March, or prior to the annual COMA Business Meeting. Nominations for the Russell Award should be made to the Vice-Chair at least 2 weeks before the Annual COMA Business Meeting.

This was followed by a discussion of COMA membership, with a question about whether there is a master list of COMA members. The Secretary/Treasurer has a list of members which was provided by the AAG. The Vice-Chair, Jean Ellis, noted that she had sent an email through the AAG member list, but it appeared that only 5 people received this email. The Chair and Vice-Chair agreed to raise this at the Chairs' meeting. This discussion led to questions about whether there was any way to make sure that the COMA and Geomorphology Specialty Group meetings were on different evenings. The Chair noted that she had tried, unsuccessfully, and it was suggested that future COMA Chairs could try to coordinate this directly with the Geomorphology Chair.

The Vice-Chair gave her report on the Chairs' meeting, which included a report from the Council meeting. There was a discussion about a letter to chairs of departments about issues relating to graduate students. The AAG was audited and judged to be one of 5% of non-profits in the US. The AAG had a surplus of \$265,000 at the end of the fiscal year, out a \$5.9 million annual budget. The Council reviewed a mental health task force report, which included a discussion of new affinity groups and training sessions for faculty and students. The Council received two petitions related to climate change, and the AAG will establish a task force to reduce carbon footprint. There was a discussion of a new no harassment policy, which will include an advocate for anyone who feels that they have been harassed. The AAG will establish a rapid response team on policy issues to use members' expertise, for which they will be putting together a database. The 75-minute sessions, rather than the more usual 90-minute sessions, will be a trial run only for the 2020 meeting. There was also a discussion of possible tiered pricing to encourage poster sessions.

The chair reported on the H. Jesse Walker Student Guided Poster Merit Award competition and the Norbert P. Psuty Student Paper Merit Award competition, and the vice-chair announced the awards, which were presented by Dr. Psuty. The Board congratulates all of the students who participated in this competition, particularly those students who have completed or are close to completing their PhDs. Three awards were given:

- Best undergraduate paper: Samuel Vazquez, Southern Connecticut State University, Looking at Socioeconomic and Biophysical Variables for Site Suitability Analysis for 3D Ocean Farming in Long Island Sound
- Best Masters/ PhD paper: Jacquelyn Ferguson, University of South Carolina, *Bringing Science to Stakeholders: Increasing Communication within the Coastal Research Process*
- Best Guided poster: Jessica Magolan, University of North Carolina Wilmington, Investigating the Transition from Freshwater to Saltwater Wetlands in Southeastern North Carolina Using GIS, Remote Sensing, and State-and-Transition Simulation Software

The Secretary/Treasurer gave her report on the finances of the specialty group. The balance as of August 2018 was \$1263.38. COMA collected \$728 in dues, leaving the group with a balance of \$1991.38 in February 2019. The projected expenses for the 2019 annual meeting were \$1072, leaving an estimated \$919 remaining. There was a motion to continue giving \$50 to the first five students to register to give papers, which passed unanimously by voice vote. A second motion to give \$25 to the first five students to register to give posters, which also passed.

Rich Daniels, the COMA Web Editor, reminded members about the web site and the Facebook page, which at the time of the meeting had 172 friends and 900 visits in a year. There was a discussion about how to add member information, and the group gave their formal thanks to Rick for maintaining COMA's social media presence.

The illustrated poster session is now called guided posters, so a revision to the by-laws is needed, which passed by unanimous voice vote.

Elections for the board were held. Jean Ellis was elected Chair by acclamation. Diane Horn was unable to continue as Secretary/Treasurer and was elected to the Board instead. Sarah Trimble was elected unanimously as Secretary/Treasurer. Christy Swann was elected as Vice-Chair. There were three nominees for Student Board Member, and Ty C. Briggs, of Florida Atlantic University, was elected.

The meeting ended at 8:02 pm. 22 people were in attendance.